The Liebster Award

Being nominated for an award is just so… Well… I don’t even have words to describe the feelings that I’m feeling.

liebster-award1

I’ll start with a huge thank you to Sarah at Sarah’s Little Kitchen. Her blog is wonderful and you should definitely check it out. She makes gorgeous cupcakes.

The Liebster Award is an award that welcomes “new” bloggers that have less than 1,000 followers. It’s an awesome award that brings recognition to new bloggers and also opens up an opportunity to get to know more about them (which is fun!)

Here are the rules:

1.) Link back to the person who nominated you.

2.) Share 11 facts about yourself.

3.) Answer 11 questions that were asked by the person who nominated you.

4.) Nominate 11 people who you think deserve the Liebster Award.

5.) Ask 11 questions to your nominees to answer. 

So here we go. Eleven facts about me:

1.) I’m allergic to cocoa, but it took me years of having horrible migraines to pin point it as the culprit. I might not be able to eat chocolate, but it doesn’t stop me from baking with it for other people.

2.) I’m 4’10” and wear size 2 kids shoes.

3.) I’m madly in love with my husband Samuel.

4.) I grew up on the Iron Range in Minnesota. I spent a lot of my time in Embarrass Minnesota, which is known as one of the coldest places in Minnesota.

5.) I’m sensitive to different textures, which plays a huge part in my baking.

6.) I’m an introvert.

7.) I was a vegetarian for two years when I was a teenager, but since I’m so sensitive to textures I basically just ate salads, cereal, fruits and pasta’s. After not getting enough nutrients I had to welcome meat back into my diet.

8.) I had a lot of ear infections in my left ear when I was a kid. One summer when I was in Germany a kid pushed me into a pool and I got another bad infection that ended up making it’s way to the bone behind the ear. I had to have a Mastoidectomy  to clean the infection out. For years after that I was deaf in that ear, but over the past year I’ve suddenly gained my hearing back.

9.) I love to travel.

10.) I have three tattoos. One on my wrist that says Grace in Hebrew, Gott Segene on the back of my neck which means God Blessed in German, and a sister tattoo on my foot that is a swirly tree with Ex Nihilo written underneath the roots, which means Out Of Nothing in Latin.

11.) I believe in God.

Here are the eleven questions that Sarah asked me:

1. What’s your favourite Disney character and why?

Princess Merida from Brave. I don’t have a deep reason on why. I just think that her hair is amazing.

2. What is your biggest dream? (it can be surreal)

Oh my. I really really really want to open up a Pastry Shop one day and donate 5% of the profit to something. Right now I’m leaning towards either the homeless shelters or to help stop human trafficking. My heart is on fire for too many things to just pick one so when the time comes I’ll trust God and what’s in His plans.

3. What is your guilty pleasure?

Do I admit this? Okay I’ll admit it. Kesha. When she comes on the radio I belt out the words and dance.

4. If you could do your life all over again, would you do it differently?

I wouldn’t change a thing. Of course there are plenty of things that I regret, but everything formed me into who I am today.

5. What was the subject you hated most in highschool?

Math and science. Which is funny because I married an aerospace engineer and when he comes home from work he talks about math and science stuff that goes way over my head.

6. Cats/dogs/magical creatures?

One day when we have our own home we’re going to get a bear dog. Which is a pretty good way to say that I hate cats and am not fond of small dogs.

7. Favourite sport? (To play or just to watch)

I love to play soccer without any rules. Some of my favorite games that I played were in the rain and barefoot.

8. Favourite actor/actress

Emma Stone.

9. If you would die tomorrow, what would you do today?

I would selfishly spend my entire day with Sam.

10. 3 words that describe you?

Loving, kind and respectful.

11. Favourite holiday spot?

Anywhere near the ocean. I love looking out into the ocean and letting my mind wander. From thinking about how amazing and beautiful God is, to how big the world is and all of the lives that are on the other side.

My Nominees: 

My friend Benjamin from Minnesota. He writes short stories that are a joy to read. Visit his site here.

Angie & Chris are two talented teenagers who love to bake. Visit their site here.

Tea & Sesame is a blog that incorporates  British and Chinese food. Visit their site here.

Jen over at Bakearama makes wonderful food. Visit her site here.

Radhika posts stunning food. Visit her site here.

Alyssa posts so many great recipes. Visit her site here.

Kristina posts healthy recipes. Visit her site here.

Katie and Joe are a married couple who have a wonderful site that’s full of encouragement. Visit their site here.

Charisma’s site is full of delicious things. Visit her site here.

Sofia is twelve years old and is an awesome baker. Visit her site here.

Elaine was one of the first bloggers that I met. She has a wonderful blog and has just started to sell her food. Visit her page here.

Lastly I have eleven questions for my nominees. 

1.) Why did you start your blog?

2.) What is your favorite post that you’ve written? (Please provide a link.)

3.) What’s your favorite dessert?

4.) How do you take your coffee/tea?

5.) What’s your biggest dream?

6.) If money wasn’t a concern, where would you choose to live?

7.) What’s your favorite thing to cook or bake?

8.) Mountains or the ocean?

9.) What’s your favorite book?

10.) What is your go to snack?

11.) What’s your go-to recipe on a weeknight?

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. First of all, big congrats! These awards are such an encouragement! So sorry to hear about your migraines…glad you figured out what it was from! You are shorter than me….that is rare! 🙂
    Wow! Praising God that you have received your hearing back!

  2. Congratulations on your award ☺️ I love your fact number 3, how absolutely wonderful, I’m madly in love with my husband too!!
    Thank you so much for including me in your nominations, it’s so lovely of you xx

  3. What a lovely post! Thank you for your sweet words 🙂
    I love that dream you have and especially the 5% you want to give to the profit of something 🙂 that’s really great! Thank you for getting us get to know you better 🙂

  4. Congratulations Channyn! I was also a vegetarian for a couple of years as a teenager but ended up eating fish because I found that my diet was too limited! Loved reading your post to know you more…

  5. Congratulations !!! 🙂
    And thank you for nominating me!
    P.s. The bit about you hating maths and science and then marrying an aerospace engineer cracked me up! How do you manage those conversations? I hate those subjects too 😀

Leave a Reply

