Strawberry Pie

Image

Summertime means juicy strawberries.  Juicy strawberries means delicious desserts. Which all equals into making me one happy camper. Why not make your summer a little bit better by digging into a delicious Strawberry Pie?

Image

But before you can dig into it you have to make it. Which is okay because this recipe is super simple and only requires a few ingredients.

I got this recipe from Taste From Home, but my laptop isn’t hyperlink friendly. If you wish to visit the original page here it is: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/easy-fresh-strawberry-pie

Ingredients:

1 unbaked pastry shell

3/4 cup sugar

2 tbsp corn starch

1 cup water

1 Package (3 oz) strawberry jello

4 cups fresh strawberries, sliced

Whipped Cream:

1 cream cheese

1/2 cup sugar

2 cups heavy cream

1 tsp vanilla

First make your pie crust. I’m in the process of learning how to make it homemade so I just used the Pillsbury ready to roll out crusts.

Then in a saucepan combine sugar, cornstarch and water until smooth. Bring it to a boil. Continue to cook and stir until it thickens, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in gelatin until it dissolves. Refrigerate for 15-20 minutes.

Meanwhile arrange the strawberries in the crust. Once the mixture has set pour it over the berries.

Image

Now it’s time to make my favorite Whipped Cream. Starting with the paddle attachment cream together the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla. Then switch to the frosting attachment and slowly start adding the heavy cream. Set it on medium speed and then walk away for about ten minutes. Pipe the pie however you want to. I used the star tip and a circle tip.

The last step is the hardest… Putting it back into the fridge for 2 hours.

Image

The Whipped Cream wrapped around the Strawberries delicately, enhancing their juicy and sweet nature. I hope that you enjoy this Strawberry Pie as much as my husband and I did.

So May 18th was our one year anniversary. Sam semi-surprised me with an ocean front hotel room at Virginia Beach. We had such a wonderful weekend enjoying each other’s company and the ocean. We even got stopped by someone who asked us if we were enjoying our honeymoon… So we must be doing something right!

10329266_672070819527192_3482679038162243174_n

 

I’m also going back to college for my AA  in Baking and Pastry Arts.  I am so excited for this opportunity to learn more and to work towards becoming a Pastry Chef. Lastly, I’ve booked my very first order and will be delivering it this week! There is just too much excitement and God keeps on pouring the blessings on me.

That’s all for now.

Mrs.Hess, out.

 

Leave a Reply

