My Great Grandma’s Sugar Cookies

Image

This morning Sam received a phone call that we’ve been waiting to get for months now. We are super excited to finally tell people that we are moving to Maryland next year! I’m really proud and excited for Sam as he scored his dream job working at Navair. I married a genius. I’m one lucky woman. 

Anyways, I’m really tired. I meant for those cookies to turn out cooler than they did, but we all have our off days. As promised, I made my Great Grandma’s Sugar Cookies. I’ve tried multiple other Sugar Cookie recipes, but none even came close to how delicious these are. They’re just that perfect soft yet crumbly Christmas cookie that’s packed with flavor and memories. What more could you ask for from a cookie? 

Great Grandma’s Sugar Cookies

1 Cup Sugar

1 Cup Powdered Sugar

1 Cup Butter

2 Eggs

1 Cup Vegetable Oil

1 Tsp Vanilla

1 Tsp Salt, Baking Soda and Cream of Tartar

4 Cups+2 Tbsp Flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Recipe makes about 3-5 dozen cookies, depending on how you shape them. 

First, cream together the sugar, powdered sugar and butter. Second, add the eggs, vegetable oil and vanilla. Then beat until it’s nice and fluffy.

Image

Then you’re going to add the salt, baking soda, cream of tartar and flour. Stir it together and cover it with plastic wrap. Then put it into the fridge. Cool it for 4 hours or overnight.

Once you take it out of the fridge it might be pretty solid. If you work it out with your hands it’ll soften up pretty fast. Then you can either roll the dough into 1 inch balls and squish it down with a glass or flatten it out to cut out with cookie cutters. Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper and put them into the oven for 10-14 minutes. Make sure to pull them out before they start to turn golden otherwise they might over bake.   

Image

 

There you have it, my Great Grandma’s Sugar Cookies! I hope that you enjoy them as much as I do. I will be back later this week (after I take a ton of naps) with a cake. God Bless and have a great Monday! 

Mrs.Hess, out.

 

Leave a Reply

