Chocolate Peppermint Delight Cheesecake

After crying over the new episode of Parenthood I am back with a finished Chocolate Peppermint Delight Cheesecake. I get migraines when I eat chocolate so I always make two versions of things because I understand that chocolate is delicious. I just wish that I could eat it, too. 

Image

For this one I used the same Cheesecake batter as I used for the Candy Cane Delight Cheesecake below, except I used a chocolate crust instead of graham cracker crust. When I pulled this out  last night my husband said, “Oh! You burnt the crust!” I then informed him that it was chocolate and not burnt. 

Do you remember that Chocolate Peppermint Ganache that I made for the Half Dipped Double Chocolate Peppermint Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies? Well I put it in this bottle because I knew that I would be using it later for this cheesecake. 

Image

If you don’t already have these bottles it’s definitely worth the four dollars for a pack of two at Wal-mart. It really makes decorating easier and prettier. It’s also nice for storing left over Ganache.

The recipe for the Chocolate Peppermint Ganache is really easy.

1 Cup Milk Chocolate Chips

1/2 Cup Whipping Cream 

1/4 Tsp Peppermint Extract

First you set the chips into a measuring cup and then microwave the whipping cream until it’s really hot. Next you pour the cream on top of the chips and let it sit for a couple of minutes. Stir it until it’s smooth and then add the peppermint extract. Then throw it in the fridge until it gets a little bit harder. 

Then you’re going to put some of the Ganache and mix it in with the batter. 

Image

Image

Again I made that really poor decision of doing the swirl on the batter which caused the cheesecake’s to crack. Whoops. 

After it baked and cooled off I finally got do my favorite thing which is to make it pretty. First, I warmed up my Ganache by putting the bottle in a measuring cup filled with hot water. While that was warming up I put a layer of that delicious Peppermint Whipped Cream, swirled it just like I did to the other one and then drizzled some Chocolate Peppermint Ganache around it. Then I decided to do an every other layer of the crushed candy canes on it. 

Image

On both of the cheesecakes I did a circle of piping and then a smaller circle in all of the spaces up on the top rim. It really gives it a finished look that I like on cheesecakes and pies. 

Since I’ve never made the Candy Cane Delight Cheesecake or the Chocolate Peppermint Delight Cheesecake before I had to taste them to make sure that I was sharing something that was actually a delight. So I did what no one should do if they’re bringing a dessert somewhere… I cut into them. 

ImageImageImage

The only thing that I regret is not putting a thicker layer of the Peppermint Whipped Cream. The color turned out just how I had hoped and the peppermint mixing in with the cheesecake is just enough to say, “I am a refreshingly smooth dessert.” Which is exactly what I was hoping would happen. 

I’ll be sharing my Great Grandma’s Sugar Cookies next week. Then to wrap up Christmas baking I’ll be doing a Vanilla Peppermint Delight Cake, which I’m really stoked to decorate. I think that I’m going to end by saying that last night I was really excited to have gotten 30 views so far. I may have done a little dance about it. Then you guys outdid yourself and I’ve gotten 27 views just in today. You all just fill me up and I’m so happy that these recipes are making their way into other families. Thank you so much for stopping by and have a beautiful Christmastime. After all, it is the most beautiful time of year. God Bless and I’ll write to you next week.

Mrs.Hess, out.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Peppermint Delight Cheesecake

  1. Squeeze bottles are definitely a lifesaver for detailed decorating. And no worries if the cheesecake cracks–they always do that in my experience haha, but luckily it doesn’t change how delicious they are! This cheesecake looks great and I love the addition of peppermint.

  2. Pingback: Candyland Pie | Life After Reboot

  3. Pingback: WHY CHOCOLATE IS AMAZING | eJo

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Pills May Prevent Heart Attacks | eJo

Leave a Reply

