Candy Cane Delight Cheesecake

When I was a kid I always thought that people were crazy to be eating Cheesecake. Who in their right mind would enjoy eating a cake of cheese? So I never touched it until I started college. I remember the first time I took a bite of it and realized that it wasn’t a block of mozzarella cheese, but a bite of creamy bliss on a fork. Since then I’ve been a cheesecake fanatic because I had lost 18 years of the best dessert in the world. This is a base recipe that I found somewhere on the internet a while back, but that link is saved on my dead Mac-book. It’s a recipe that gets reviews such as, “Where did you buy this?” “This is the creamiest cheesecake I have ever had.” A family member even cut a cheesecake into sample slices and brought them around the room to make sure that everyone had tried it. It is such an honor for me to watch people enjoy something I poured my love into.  Also, this recipe is super easy to make and alter to fit whatever food-mood you’re in. Caramel, chocolate, peppermint, etc. 

Image

Another reason why I enjoy making cheesecake’s so much is because it goes perfectly with this Whipped Cream Frosting that I found on Just A Pinch. Whipped cream is also really easy to alter to taste like any extract that you have. It’s also a perfect texture to pipe with and makes a delicious filling for cakes. Okay, enough typing. I’ll get to the good stuff now.

Ingredients: 

Cheesecake:

3 (24 oz) Cream Cheese. If you’ve frozen it make sure that it’s fully thawed out. 

3/4 Cup Sugar

3 Large Eggs

1/2 Tsp Peppermint Extract

Red Food Coloring

Graham Cracker Crust

Note: This is going to make enough filling for 2 Cheesecakes, but I’ll be making a Chocolate Peppermint Delight Cheesecake with the second one. If you’re going to be following along with that one I also bought a chocolate graham cracker crust.

Second note: You’re going to preheat your oven to 450 degrees to start out with, but then be putting it down to 250 later on.

Peppermint Whipped Cream 

 

1 (8 oz) Cream Cheese

1/2 Cup Sugar

2 Cups Heavy Cream

1/2 Tsp Peppermint Extract

First, mix the cream cheese and sugar together until they’re well mixed. Then start adding the eggs one at a time making sure to mix well after each one. Then add your vanilla and mix on medium until you achieve a creamy texture. About 5 minutes or so. My secret for achieving a creamy cheesecake is letting it mix until it looks like this:

Image

Then you’ll be pouring a 1/3 cup of the batter into a separate bowl and then evenly distributing the batter into 2 different graham cracker crusts. (I did one graham cracker and one chocolate.) 

Go back to that 1/3 cup of batter you left out and put the 1/3 tsp of peppermint into it and mix it up with a spoon. Then add some red food coloring to it and stir. I used Wilton’s No-Taste-Red. 

Image

Then mix it in with the graham cracker crust. I used an Angled Spatula to mix everything together, which I only took a picture of doing when I was making the chocolate one. 

Image

Please learn from my mistake and don’t make the swirl design on the cheesecake. It just ended up cracking, which didn’t matter much because I was going to cover it with frosting anyways. 

Then you’re going to pop it into the oven, which should be preheated to 450 degrees. You’ll bake it for 10 minutes and then reduce the heat to 250 degrees and cook it for another 25 minutes. When it’s done turn the oven off and open it to let them cool off for 30 minutes. Then transfer them to a cooling rack for 15 minutes and then put them into the fridge for a half hour. Meanwhile you can start on that Peppermint Whipped Cream. 

Wash up your mixing bowl and tools because you’ll be using them for the Whipped Cream. Then dry them and add the cream cheese, sugar and peppermint extract. With your batter attachment mix them together. (I always forget to do this and start out with my frosting attachment.) Then switch out the attachments and start to slowly pour in the heavy cream. When I first made this it almost defeated me because it just wasn’t peaking, but then I walked away from my mixer for 10 minutes with it on medium-high and came back to this beauty:

Image

 

This was my first time putting peppermint extract into it and it tasted so delicious that I even used some as a dip for my Great Grandma Spritz Cookies that I made yesterday. 

Fill up a frosting bag and throw it into the fridge to get nice and cool to pipe with. I used the 12 point star-tip.

Now it’s time to crush up those candy canes. 

Image

By now everything should be cool enough to start decorating it. I started by covering it with a layer of Peppermint Whipped Cream. Then I did a swirl effect with my Angled Spatula and sprinkled the crushed canes along the lines of it. Finally I was on my favorite step- piping it. Here’s the finished outcome again:

Image

I’m off to go and finish decorating the Chocolate Peppermint Delight Cheesecake. I hope that you decide to follow along with that one, too. The two of them are a perfect pair to make any peppermint and chocolate lover happy. I’ll be posting that one in an hour or so. 

Mrs.Hess, out.

5 thoughts on “Candy Cane Delight Cheesecake

  1. You mention a dead macbook. Battery dead, or functionally dead? Do you need data recovery? If so, I can help. Also, I very much enjoy your posts. And I mourn with you for not having had cheesecake at an earlier age.

  2. Pingback: Delightful Candy Cane Cake | dessertsforsharing

  3. Pingback: Caramel and Chocolate Cheesecakes | dessertsforsharing

  4. I love whipped cream as a topping for everything however, I’ve been searching for and playing around with “butter creams”. Need to keep experimenting — the fun never ends!

    • I’ve been playing around with butter creams, too. So far this recipe is my favorite. It’s really great for piping things and I’ve also gotten compliments on it:
      3 sticks+2 tbsp unsalted butter, softened and cut into cubes
      3 cups powdered sugar
      3 tbsp milk
      1 1/2 tsp vanilla
      pinch of salt
      whip butter for 8 minutes and then add the remaining stuff and mix on low for 1 minute and then on med for 6 minutes. It’s a pretty generic recipe for butter cream, but it’s the best that I’ve found so far. Let me know if you’ve found anything better. =)

Leave a Reply

