Great Grandma’s Spritz Cookies

I am so blessed to have gotten 29 views on my first post. It fills my heart to know that my recipe has made it’s way into other people’s kitchens. I was also blown away to see that three people who viewed it were from Germany, meaning that my recipe made it’s way overseas. Because of you, my viewer, I couldn’t wait until next week to get back into the kitchen. 

For me recipes are way to connect to strangers and even past relatives. Since I’ve gotten married it has opened up a new window of conversations with my Grandma’s. It’s like becoming a wife suddenly made me part of a secret kitchen world with an abundance of family recipes. I suppose now that I’m married it’s my job to make sure that the recipes get passed on to my future children and onward, which I am very happy to do so. 

This week I’ll be sharing one of those “secret” recipes, which is also my favorite holiday cookie which is the Spritz.  I have so many memories of eating Spritz. From sitting with my back facing my Grandma Sharon’s wood fireplace on Christmas Eve to hiding as many as I could from the rest of my family. I was the Spritz snatcher and because they’re such a tiny cookie I probably ate more than I should have more than once. But that’s what kids do, they eat all of the Christmas cookies. 

Image

Ingredients: Makes around 60 cookies

1 Cup Butter

1 Egg

3/4 Cup Sugar

1/2 Tsp Almond Extract

2 1/3 Cups of Flour

1/8 Tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

First cream together the butter, egg and sugar. Then add the almond extract, flour and salt. At first it might seem crumbly, but just keep on mixing it until it gets a nice smooth texture. (About 3-5 minutes.) 

Sam’s grandma kindly gave me a really awesome Spritzer. This Spritzer came with a lot of different shapes, including a dog and a camel. I have no idea when I’d ever use them, but they’re pretty cool. If you don’t have a Spritzer you could just roll them into 1 inch balls and flatten them with a cup, like you would do with Sugar Cookies. Then sprinkle them with some colored sugar and pop them into the oven. 

I baked mine for 8 minutes, but you will want to pay close attention to them. If they get past a golden brown then they will be over-baked. 

Image

I pulled mine out just when they started to get golden on the edges and they turned out perfect.

Another thing that my sisters and I did when we would make these with my Grandma was to mold our own shapes with the extra dough that couldn’t fit into the Spritzer. So I made an H for Hess with my extra dough.

Image

 

 I may or may not have eaten 12 Spritz cookies while writing this blog. Let’s just say that it’s a good thing that I’m mailing some of these to friends and that I have a husband who will gladly eat most of them. 

I’m really itching to get my hands on an icing bag so I might be doing my cheesecakes earlier than planned. I live in Western Minnesota where our high has been in the negatives the past week, so I have a huge freezer right outside. So I might be posting those by this weekend. 

Have fun baking things for Christmas my friends and God Bless.

Mrs.Hess, out.

3 thoughts on “Great Grandma’s Spritz Cookies

  1. These look absolutely delicious. Im an 18 year old guy but I think I am going to have to make these. I think I found what I am going to be doing this Christmas. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I hope others enjoy it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

